Anti-Witness to former Bible study?

by tall penguin 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• tall penguin
    tall penguin

I'm a bit conflicted. A few years back, as a jw, I studied with a wonderful family from China. They moved away and I transferred over the study to a jw couple in their new area. They've continued to study (a total of almost 3 years now). They attend meetings. I saw them at the 2004 District Convention and have spoken to them by phone a few times this year.
    Here's the dilemna. They're not yet baptized. I don't even think they're publishers yet. The last time I heard from them was just before this past summer's DC asking me if I could meet them there to say hello. I didn't return the call as I didn't attend and was in the process of leaving the org. I notice on my phone's call display that they've called a few times since, the last call being about 2 weeks ago. I would guess they don't know I've disassociated. They haven't left any more messages though. I just don't know what to do.
    What are my moral obligations here? I feel bad because I'm the one who initally studied with them and although I was in the org at the time, my views have now changed. It's almost like they're my children in a way and I want to tell them that "Mommy" made a grave error and they should run for their lives! Yet I also realize they're not kids. They're adults entitled to make their own decision.
    What would you do?
    tp

• JH
    JH

If you don't do anything you'll feel bad, so phone them !

• jgnat
    jgnat

I'd just plant a seed. Like, ask them if they are completely happy with their studies or if they have any nagging questions.

• anewme
    anewme

I would definitely call them. They seem like real sincere people. And they may have their doubts and trust you with their feelings. You are the one to help them.

• skyman
    skyman