Bubbamar update

by Bubbamar 12 Replies latest jw friends

• Bubbamar
    Bubbamar

Hello Friends

I just wanted to post a little update on our situation. So many of you have been SO helpful, generous, kind, supportive and caring -- it is truly mindblowing and has been THE bright spot in this nightmare. Honestly, I have received more help from "strangers" (friends I hadn't met yet) here in Dallas than I have from friends and blood family. I can not tell you what the PM's, donations, phone calls, dinners, etc have done to help me hold on to my sanity.

Dee and I visited the University in Denton yesterday and they do have a great program (we are both in Grad school --I'm a masters student and Dee is a Phd student). We are also looking into the Univ in Atlanta and have a friend there who is recent UNO graduate who is helping us with information and advocacy. We are leaning towards Atlanta but it keeps changing for me. I think Dee is ready to go - but I am struggling. I think that when I make a decision it also means accepting the reality that we are NOT going back to New Orleans because there is NOTHING there.

There is just so much to let go of. You know, when you move to a new place, you can usually go "home" and visit all your old friends, favorite restaurants, and enjoy the familiarity of home. I have been there so long that the roots run deep and it so painful to have that all severed so quickly. I am trying to stay focused on the positive - I really have SO MUCH to be grateful for. My life, for one.