My Dad

by Crumpet 25 Replies latest jw friends

• Crumpet
    Crumpet

Just a wee update on my current tentative drawing out of my family. I sent a letter, which not coincidentally was timed to arrive on Fathers Day weekend just gone. Its the first letter I've sent in 8 years to my family and whilst I was careful to avoid any mention of religion I did talk about how happy I was generally and mentioned how nice it is that I see so much of my inlaws who despite living 800 miles away make regular visit to us at least 3 or 4 times a year. I wanted to stress the normality and groundedness of my life - ie I'm not a prostitute, on drugs and homeless (although I've been closer than I'd like to all 3 in my past).

Anyway I just this minute got a text from Dad. As background I'll explain that most of the ltter was about my trip to Canada and how I had missed him to the point of tears on the Maid on the Mist (Niagara) and how much I wished I could share that experience with him. This is the text I just got:

"Sounds a very "moving" ( punning reference to my misty eyedness as well as the fact we were constantly travelling) experience in every way. Ur various journeys and experiences make quite an impression. I don't know if I'll ever get the chance but niagara and main in the mist sound like just what I'd like to do. **** (someone I grew up with, but who got out of the JWs quite young - LT would know him) lives near Ottawa and his parents are going tomorrow for a month - wish I could join them. Luv dad."

Okay so I'd like a letter, but at least I got this. I've had more communication with my parents in the last 2 months than in the last 8 years!. If I can get my parents out of the JWs then I am hiring a whole Maid on the Mist for one massive apostafest and taking them out to celebrate! You are all invited!

• mtbatoon
    mtbatoon

Well done on your success, I hope things carry on going well for you. Your patience is admirable.

• homesteader
    homesteader

Crumpet,