Grace, and JWs

by josephus 6 Replies latest watchtower bible

• josephus
    josephus

hi

im studying a lot nowadays, and am finding the teaching of Grace to be really wonderfull.

the idea of god forgiving us so freely, is great.

but ive been trying to remember the jws teachings on it. i cant ever remember the word grace being used, much less the idea of this teaching.

speaking for myself, all i remember was a deep sense of guilt. along with the thought that god would never allow me to survive armagedon.

did your halls teach grace ? or was mine unusual ?

i understand a lot here are atheists, but i get so much comfort from grace, i am constantly glad ive left the witnesses, and sorry for those still in it.

josephus

• jgnat
    jgnat

The JW's rejected the word "grace" as too Christendom-ish. Do you remember the teachings on "undeserved kindness"? You will find all your old teachings there. We've had a few threads on it, but do you think I can find them?

• purplesofa
    purplesofa

Here is a thread you might be interested in

http://www.jehovahs-witness.com/15/89865/1504921/post.ashx#1504921

purps

• mad max
    mad max

Ya its underserved kindness. Oh I just cannot tell you how I feel about GRACE, I am still finding out all about it. ITS WONDERFUL.

One is not under LAW but under GRACE. Do yourself a favour get the books by Steve McVey, he has about 4 books that talks about Grace, it BLEW my mind, what a writer, fantastic, well for me that is, as I am still very, very new to the whole Grace thing.

• LouBelle
    LouBelle

ah Grace.....saying the word alone brings so much peace.

The witnesses never taught grace, they substituted that word for underserved Kindness which steals away the true meaning of God's Grace.