whats a newbie

by Chainsaw 10 Replies latest jw friends

• Chainsaw
    Chainsaw

so um what is a newbie and why did I suddenly become one??? Oh well guess I've been called worse.
    so I'm new here checked it out for a couple of days though. My boyfriend is a JW and to appease him I have been studying for a few months now. Funny thing is He's great until he's around his JW friends. I'm definitely not the stay at home and be submissive girl his family wants for him, but he is not the rigid JW they think he is. I know he has doubts, and feels trapped he starts to talk to me about it but then backs away like he is scared. After reading the posts from this site I am beginning to understand why.

I have been attending meetings with him, and enjoy some of what I am learning but I refuse to let anyone control my life and i see that this religion thrives on that. They are already trying to change me through subtle "suggestions."

So what I need is your help. How do I get my boyfriend to talk with me to stop being so afraid??? I know his parents have a lot of control over him, they even try to come with us on our dates. How bizzare is that, we have to lie and say were going out with a group of friends. He's 25 and 22 and I feel like were in the first grade. But despite that I like him and I see that he needs help, especially after visiting this site, I know that this is something that is very deceptive. So any advice that you have would be appreciated.

• Stacey
    Stacey

Hi Chainsaw,

Newbie - Brand new person. I think I am still a "newbie" too. It's ok, it's not a bad thing.

So you have been studying for a few months? All that I can say is if you are a strong willed woman as you say you are, this religion is not going to be good for you. Submissive is a favorite word of JW men.