Life Was So Simple Before 1973

by RevFrank 5 Replies latest jw friends

• RevFrank
    RevFrank

That was life before my ex-wife introduced me to her parents,(jehovah witnesses).

In the 60s we had hippies, hi school graduation, becoming an adult, and studying bibical theology. It was fun and interesting. Then in 1973 I met my ex-wife's parents. I only required my, "Thomson Chain Reference."

With her parents I studied greek, latin(I was catholic), hebrew, and aramaic. What's more I studied hermeneutics, which is the branch of theology that deals with the principals of exegesis, which in turn, needed to understand exegesis which is the study of explanations or critical interpreation of bible study.

I needed several bibles, mostly in other languages so I wound up studying different languages. Then I needed to do research on the Church Fathers and did that too.

But then I realized one thing I was missing.......Just reading my bible.

In the Truth Book, one of the watchtowers study books, chapter 3 the title was, "Why is it wise to Examine your religion."

So I turned to the watchtower to examine. Guess what? The Elders came out of the wood work. The committee told me it wasn't wise to do research for the watchtower was the final authority.

I asked them, " It's been told to me that God's Word alone,the Bible, was the Final Authority. Why the watchtower?"

They told me the watchtower is God's authority on earth. I told them, "Bull ...."

So with the knowledge I've developed over the years I've become an apologetic and to teach on the watchtower. I realized over time studying with the JWs, it's not a bible study, but a political study on the watchtower and emphasising how important it is to follow the watchtower.

So PEACE

• JAVA
    JAVA

You're correct, RevFrank, not only was life a lot easier before '73, there was a lot to look forward to:

* The Big A was coming in '75, which means . . .
    * No reason to plan for retirement
    * No reason to have kids