My father(elder) wont let me borrow music!

by Es 17 Replies latest jw friends

• Es
    Es

Hey there everyone,

Well my saga continues.... for those who don't know I am getting married this being my second time round, only difference is im marrying a non believer. I have been fading from the truth for bout 3 years now.

Anyway just a short time ago my father (elder) suggested that they look after my son so my new husband and I could have a honeymoon. About a week later he called me up and said he couldnt look after my son as it wasnt right what I was doing and he didnt want to support my decision to get married to a "wordly" person. About a week after that i sent my D/A letter off as from that point on I did no longer want to be known as a JW. The elders dismissed my letter thinking I was doing it purely to get back at my father.

I havnt spoken to my father for about a month now, but decided to pop in last week to say hi. I asked my mum if i could look at there cd's as i was looking for background music for my reception. I hear dad in the background go "No sorry" I turned to look at him and he had his arms in the air and he continues" I dont want any part of this wedding, Im not going to support it in anyway"

So I left, the next day he called me up and said I dont want to hurt you, everything will be ok if you dont mention you up and coming wedding. It was music for goodness sake all i wanted was to borrow some cd's. Then he said what Im doing is unscriptual and he wanted no part in it.

But then as soon as I get married they are willing to accept my partner. I dont understand if I am doing something unscriptual shouldnt they have nothing to do with me?????

es

• lawrence
    lawrence

I have some great music that will make your dad wish he lent you the Best of Lawrence Welk. Matter of fact, I'd even send your dad a tape or two and he'll get the point. I wish the 2 of you happiness as you avoid a mad cult.

• cindykp
    cindykp