I married a 'worldly' man...

by chrissee 6 Replies latest jw friends

• chrissee
    chrissee

So I was not allowed to help with a demonstration on stage....

I have been fading for over 2 years now, but I was talking with a friend at work (non jw, of course) and I was telling her that I don't go to the KH any longer. I told her of an incident that I think about on occasion, that sort of spurred my decision to leave amongst other things, too!

I was baptized by this time and going out in service regularly, although I wasn't officially on the school I would be someones househoulder for their parts. My father, an elder, had a part on the service meeting and asked me to give a demonstration with another sister. I readily agreed, because my daddy asked. (I used to be daddy's girl) Anyway, he asked me to help with the demo then returned to me later, either that eve or the next meeting and told me that I was not allowed to do the demo. Because I was married to a 'worldly' man!! I said, are you serious?? He had discussed his part with another elder and they in turn told him that I could not do the demo because of my husband!! Still to this day I'm stunned at that incident. My husband is a wonderful, caring man!! Better than some of the JW husbands I've heard of...

Has anything like this ever happened to anyone else??

• upside/down
    upside/down

yup...

• jeanniebeanz
    jeanniebeanz

It's just another example of their made up rules and regulations. It's how they force people to comply by humiliating tactics like this when there were not grounds to disfellowship. Really stupid in my book, and something that I am sure has JC's eyes rolling in their sockets...

J

• blondie
    blondie