A thought on Quotes and the copyright thing.

by Forscher 19 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• Forscher
    Forscher

I downloaded and reviewed the contents of the zip file that was thoughtfully provided of the content of Quotes' sight. I am not a lawyer, however in college I did take a number of law courses, so I'll give you my take on the situation.

It looks to me like the WTBTS did have Quotes dead to rights on that one. His problem was that he did not limit himself to excerpting the relevant quotes. In places he posted entire articles! That was a no, no. As I recall, the WTBTS used to include a warning in the instruction books that it sent out wiht the first cds that printing or reproducing whole articles was a copyright violation for which they reserved the right to prosecute. It may be that when he started out Quotes did it right since many of his quotations were confined to the relevant materials. But somewhere along the line he went a little overboard.

I would suggest that he go back and revise his pages so that he does not post whole articles and confine himself to only those words which make his point. Since the context of the quotes was inportant to him, he should comment on that content as an introduction to the quote. Then he should be able to go back online with his site, make his points, and the WTBTS legal department will not have a leg to stand on. In the mean time, if he can go public on the WTBTS's campaign of intimidation of opposing websites and get the media to pick up on it, then by all means do so!

• LittleToe
    LittleToe

One thing is for sure, his use of context will be far more honest than theirs...

• Leolaia
    Leolaia