Missed oppourtunities as a JW kid?

by kwintestal 24 Replies latest jw friends

• kwintestal
    kwintestal

JW kids are repressed in every aspect of their lives, creatively, intellectually, atheletically...the list goes on.

What did you love to do as a kid, yet weren't permitted to do?

I personally loved football as a kid. Other JW kids and I would play every weekend until the subject was brought up at an assembly as being competitive. My parents told me that if I joined the school football team I couldn't live at home. Therefore, I took up smoking instead, at least I could do that secretly and start my rebellion undercover.

Kwin

• Soledad
    Soledad

I also started secretly smoking at 14 to get back at my mother for not letting me join the softball team. I joined the team anyway and I smoked.

• karategirl
    karategirl

I was a straight A student and graduated in the top ten of my class. never was allowed to participate in academic clubs or competitions. It pissed me off a lot. Then of course I was told not to go to college, even though I was selected to participate in the Duke University program that follows students from middle school on to see if they have potential to go there. Hell my stepdad wouldn't even look at my report card because he said that I only showed it too him to be boastful and because I felt superior. He only wanted to see it if I was failing. Which he would have then spanked me. The sense in that reasoning? Took me until I was 25 to go back to school.

I also was asked to join the cheerleading squad and the school newspaper. Neither of which was allowed. Joined drama, wrote a comedy which I was the director and lead part. Wasn't allowed to attend or perform since it would make me miss the meeting.

My daughter participates in everything now. I even coach her Drill Team squad. I do whatever it takes to pay for her to be in extracurricular activities even in the summertime.

• Mulan
    Mulan