Fading, but I dont think I can do it

by vitty 26 Replies latest jw friends

• vitty
    vitty

Ive been fading for about 7 months now, but I dont know if I can carry it off.

I was really upset by a family member, had a couple of drinks then phoned my sister, whoes not a JW, ( for a bit of sympathy) but then I revealed too much information about my fading. The thing is shes going on holiday with my other sister who is a JW, now im scared she might tell her. She wouldnt do it on pupose.

I feel im in quick sand, drowning, I would love to tell the way I really feel, but cant take the shunning.Will this ever end? I just want out, I just want this nightmare to stop. I feel so depressed. Will it get easier as time goes on? I just keep thinking about 24/7 I want some peace of mind

How long is a successful fade? 2years, 5 years as long as Im alive?

Im scared cos I cant keep my big mouth shut!!!!!!!!!!! Its really hard to pretend your still going to meetings and that and to listen to the crap.

Has anyone got any tips?

Sorry about the rambling I just need to talk to people who understand.

• Sassy
    Sassy

doing the fade is very hard.. you live in fear constantly of someone finding out and exposing you.. I basically sort of faded.. but I did get tired of the pressure.. now although I moved and left no forwarding address, if someone found me and exposed me, I'd just let it fall where it did... when I was trying a full fade, my hair was falling out.. I was having anxiety attackes.. it was too much..

when I broke down and told my mom, I only said I needed a break from religion. I didn't tell her I no longer believed. I knew it woudl break her heart.. and I also hoped it would give us a chance of some kind of relationship.. although in the end she has felt the need to shun me any way.. even though I am not dfd or da'd..

sometimes you cant win..

however, the more you take control of your own life, the better it is..

one day I'll be completely free..

• kls
    kls