I'm a Newbie

by kwintestal 11 Replies latest jw friends

• kwintestal
    kwintestal

Hello. Just a new face in the crowd. My uncle encouraged me to join as he has been a member for a couple of years. I left fold after a year after reading an article in a local weekly magazine (it was actually front page story). I have always refused to be a lemming! It got me doing my own research and since then I have been enlightened. I read several books (Penton, Franz, Jonsson) that really got me thinking about everything that had been thrown at me for the last 25 years of my life and how I've been decieved along with my family. My wife is still in and refuses to talk to me about my reasons for leaving, she doesn't want to listen, but hopefully with time she'll come around and start talking. I hope to meet people in similar situations and read their stories to get through this. I can't get online all the time since my wife gets very upset from me looking online for this info so I won't be on all the time but I'll be somewhat regular. I have some interesting stories to tell about 2am visits from the elders as well as them searching my apartment for evidence to DF me (my parents with a key let them in) when I was 18. I have had a sour taste in my mouth since then but only got the courage and the evidence to leave now. First I have to learn the fine art of posting on this. I'll see if this works and another day try again! Talk to you all later on!

Touqie

• recoveringjw
    recoveringjw

Welcome!!!

I have personally found that this a great place for support (lots of cyber hugs when you need them), information, a few healthy tears and a really good laugh now and again. Come by as often as you can.

(If you haven't done so already, I would recommend reading through some of the "Best of" lists--very good stuff)

Bethany

• Netty
    Netty

Welcome, hope to hear more from you.
    Netty

• Mysterious
    Mysterious