The Best years of our lives...

by Jonty Parkin 18 Replies latest jw friends

• Jonty Parkin
    Jonty Parkin

Hello friends!

Well, I never thought I'd see the day when I was prepared to talk about my 20 plus years in "The Truth" (rolls eyes upward in despair)! In view of what I have to show from it, I cannot help thinking that I wasted the best years of my life! I had a lovely wife, now I am divorced. I had a pleaasnt little home. But I let her keep it the end.

Now, I cringe when I think back on how I allowed myself to be controlled and manipulated for so long, persisting in an suppressive and stifling lifestyle which, ultimately, in my heart, I knew I did not believe in!

It was only when I started studying for my degree with the Open University that I gradually learned to think for myself, and question my involvement with the whole sorry show.

I was baptised in 1977. The last meeting I attended was "The Memorial" in 1998. To this day I don't know what my current "status" is among "watchtowerdom", and frankly, I don't care enough to find out!

Now, (thanks to my hard-earned degree that "the brothers" desperately tried to prevent me from completing), I live and work in China as an English teacher. I am engaged to a beautiful Chinese woman who loves me as much as I love her. I have finally found all the things that I (and no doubt many like me) only pretended to have in "the truth"; namely - a true sense of purpose, honest and loyal friends, true and unsupervised love, contentment, and above all - FREEDOM!

So, I don't know who or what has blessed me - I have kind of lost touch with the concept of a single, idebtifiable god, along with the desire to find out - but in the end, and I can only speak for myself, I have been blessed! Though I now have very little in the way of material assets, these days really are the best years of my life!

Has anyblody else had a similar life-enriching experience as a direct result of making the break?

• PopeOfEruke