The Purpose of Christmas/Hannukah/Kwanzaa/Winter Solstice

by cruzanheart 12 Replies latest jw friends

• cruzanheart
    cruzanheart

This is my very first time celebrating Christmas, and I am enjoying the season just as much as my children. What I see is the joy of giving. I know there are over-crowded malls, harried parents, worried people with not enough money for what they want, or no money at all. But I think the point of this holiday season, whatever one's belief, is an opportunity to give, whether of time, money, or gifts. It's a chance to show the world that we love being alive and appreciate the people we are around. So, whatever you are celebrating this year, or if you're merely enjoying a cup of hot chocolate by the fire, I'd like to say Happy Holidays and I'm glad you're in my life! All of you have made a tremendous difference to me in the year and some months that I've been posting, and I appreciate each and every one of you (even Sword of Jah, who reminds me on a regular basis why I'm not a Jehovah's Witness anymore).

Love to all,

Nina

• czarofmischief
    czarofmischief

Thanks. Merry xmas to you too.

It's all about being a human being in the middle of winter. It sucks, so we grin and bear it, and tell each other stories to give each other hope.

CZAR

• calamityjane
    calamityjane

It is a wonderful time of year. Have a great first Christmas together.

Love

denise

• Billygoat
    Billygoat
    It's a chance to show the world that we love being alive and appreciate the people we are around.

Amen! You're a gem Nina! Tell that Chris he's a lucky you-know-what. But he probably already knows that!

Love,

Andi - of the living life to it's fullest class!

• Room 215
    Room 215