My parents did not really shun me when I left but I am now breaking their hearts…

by sinboi 11 Replies latest jw experiences

• sinboi
    sinboi

If they have shunned me and chase me out of the house when I leave the cult, I would not give a damn. But they didn’t. I can still feel their love and concern for me even now.

Though I have moved out voluntarily when I joined the army, I am afraid that the life I am living now will break their hearts. I am now a bartender in a bar and am cohabiting with a woman. I know my parents will not approve of my life now.

I have to lie to my parents that I am a technician and am living alone.

They may have to shun me if they know how I living my life now. I would not blame them. I deserved to be shunned. I have broken their hearts.

Please offer me some advice.

• carla
    carla

You do NOT deserve to be shunned especially by 2 people who are supposed to show natural affection and unconditional love to their child.

You have not broken their hearts; you are living your life; as it should be. Children are supposed to fly and leave the nest and do their OWN life even if mom & dad might disagree. I am sure they must do things that you don't agree with.

Honoring your parents does not mean you must listen to them as if you are child the rest of your life.

You went through boot camp and don't have the balls to tell them about your life? how is that possible? do you love the girl? doesn't she deserve to be acknowledged by mom & dad for good or bad? what about if you ever have kids? My advice would be that you are package deal and they don't get to play with kids unless they honor your new family (be it you & girl or you, girl & kids) and abide by your rules regarding your family.

I say this as a former military mom with great affection to you and thank you for your service.

Parents will always worry. I am glad you can feel their love and concern but do not confuse that with the maturity that you should have by now.