Witnesses really hate it when you appear to leave.

by schnell 41 Replies latest jw experiences

• schnell
    schnell

I have a certain customer, whom we will call Sally. I know Sally only by face and only through work. I am a truck driver on a local dedicated route, and I often deliver to her work. About 2 years ago, I was still hanging on, and I was out and about when I saw Sally at a JW cart. I greeted her and she recognized me and who I was. So that was nice and cordial, but then time passed, things happened, I faded, and I grew a beard.

Now whenever I go to Sally's work, she scowls at me. Like, no smile. I don't know, maybe it's because I always catch her at a bad time. It's possible. Or maybe she recognized that this guy who called himself a JW 2 years prior now has a big burly beard (thicker now than what is in my current avatar at the time of this writing). I'm still nice and cordial with all my customers, and I treat her and everybody else with the respect they deserve.

What gets me is that Witnesses really really hate it when they see someone leave. I understand, having been in, but this awkward frustration is so artificial and unnecessary. It's a free country, you're free to leave a religion, and their own website CLAIMS that people can leave at any time.

I mean, it's not a cult, now, is it?

• alanv
    alanv

Yes Schnell you are totally correct. They love to be able to give a label to anyone who is not a JW any more. But when someone just walks away from the religion because they realized they had been lied to for instance, they really hate it

In fact often faders are often treated like someone who has been disfellowshipped and totally shunned.

• tepidpoultry
    tepidpoultry

You (we) are EVIL

We are MENTALLY DISEASED

In ancient Isreal we would be STONED TO DEATH

by our own FAMILIES

If they talk to us they could lose their hope of

Everlasting life!! In Paradise

They've been made to feel scared of you

And so they act afraid