Novelist With Questions

by Researcher With Questions 16 Replies latest jw friends

• Researcher With Questions
    Researcher With Questions

Greetings All,

I am a writer, who is at present working on a novel, and I am developing a character/characters who has/have been Jehovahs Witness(es), and I have some questions that I am hoping someone may be willing to answer.

First, my general credentials. I am a working writer, with a number of professional poetry publications in journals and lit. mags, including The Country Dog Review, The Lake, Pirene's Fountain, and Harpur Palate. My first chapbook of poetry was published by Kattywompus Press in 2015. I worked for over a decade as a college composition instructor, up until Spring 2013, when I left teaching to work full time as a writer, and as a community volunteer. I have worked as a volunteer creative writing workshop facilitator at two local shelters/transitional homes for women and children, as well as, as a volunteer for our local adult literacy tutoring program. My current project is my first work of long fiction, and is a work in progress. For more detailed or specific credentials, you may message me.

Next, a bit of information about the plot line in question: The bulk of the novel is set in 1986-1987. In 1975, a couple was disfellowshipped for allowing a blood transfusion for their daughter with leukemia. The child (unfortunately) passed anyway. After having been disfellowshipped, the couple moved to a different town with their two surviving small children, and did not continue in any formal way with the Jehovahs Witnesses (e.g. attending meetings). These characters are part of a larger "cast" and the plot line is running concurrent with and is intertwined with other plot lines (which have nothing to do with Jehovahs Witnesses, but do in some part deal with matters of faith, belief, and truth).

Now, the questions: