Food trends/Sweet dreams

by JWdaughter 8 Replies latest social entertainment

• JWdaughter
    JWdaughter

Ok, I like to bake, cook, read and write. My goal, short term is to work on a winning entry for the Pillsbury bake off this year and other food contests. I plan to write, maybe blog about the process.

My small problem with pillsbury is that I am a home baker. My strength is that I haven't always been. I was a young person who grew into this love of baking because I adore bread.

Now though, even if I find an appealing quick Pillsbury product recipe, using a mix galls me, I even soak and cook beans and make refried beans. I'm weird, I know.

From you all in more sophisticated circles, or more foodie ones, anyway, I hope you will suggest any upcoming food trends. We've had the salted caramel, kale, cronut fads, fashions, superfoods.

I am right now exploring Trinidads foods, and Indian flavor profiles. I think food from Trinidad smells better:) I still prefer baking to cooking, but I need a win and this is in my wheelhouse. Suggestions and encouragement welcome!

• rebel8
    rebel8

Cool.

I'm off to read about Trinidad cuisine now. You have me curious.

• millie210
    millie210

If I mull this over maybe I can come up with something better but the first thing that comes to mind is the whole foods movement.

Free range eggs, grass fed meats (not for baking but maybe the lard in pie crusts and such?).

Grass fed dairy milk, butter, cheeses.

You said Pillsbury so I am guessing that is the contest sponsor?

I like King Arthur flours personally,

• JWdaughter
    JWdaughter