The Repression and Expression of Anger Among Jehovah's Witnesses

by john.prestor 18 Replies latest jw experiences

• john.prestor
    john.prestor

Something which I always found surprising when I attended the Kingdom Halls I studied was how angry, even vicious, many Jehovah's Witnesses could become when a Watchtower Study featured some persons and/or institutions the organization disapproved of, say, higher education and educators, Christendom and its clergy, apostates, etc. Many seemed to sadistically enjoy denigrating these persons or institutions when the Watchtower Study Conductor called on them and they were handed a microphone. I wondered for a long time where this anger came from, and I've developed a hypothesis for explaining this.

According to a book I'm reading by Alice Miller called "For Your Own Good: Hidden Cruelty in Child-Rearing and the Roots of Violence," children who are strictly controlled and abused (whether emotionally or physically) typically go on to unleash the anger they inevitably felt at their parents, but were never allowed to express, at their children or those around them. In part children cannot express this anger and it remains unconscious because they were taught to perceive their parents as "loving" and as such it was unthinkable to become angry at their parents no matter what cruelty they inflicted upon them. Adults, she argues, have a greater capacity to feel and/or express anger at those who abuse them because, being adults, they can more easily resist or process what's being done to them and deem it or the persons responsible wrong, evil, unethical, etc.