Maryland congregation gave me false info

by Alleymom 28 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Alleymom
    Alleymom

Oops --- Edited because somehow I managed to post a blank message. My apologies.

Last month a couple of JW's stopped by. "Eve" showed me the latest WT with an article about Noah. As she flipped through the magazine, I saw that the article had a chronology timeline. I used that as an opportunity the bring up the subject of 607 BCE. I told her that I had discussed the chronology with another JW about 7 years ago, and that she had never been able to show me one single source that agreed with the WT date of 607 BCE for the destruction of Jerusalem.

(I am not a JW. My husband used to be an editor at an archaeology magazine and I majored in religion, hence my/our interest in Bible chronology. I have read The Gentile Times Reconsidered, Crisis of Conscience. etc., and thought this might be an interesting way to start a discussion and get Eve to think about some issues regarding the Society.)

A couple of weeks later she and her husband dropped off a packet of information at my door. I was sick, so my husband answered the door (he was just half awake, too) and took the packet.

Pages 2-15 have some articles cut-and-pasted from the WT CD. (With a VERY interesting omission ...more on that below).

But page 1 is REALLY interesting.

I don't know if the woman's husband put this together or if an elder gave it to them, but it is a well-done forgery. At the top of the page is a definition of the terms CE and BCE. Just under this is a screen print of the britannica web page with the term BCE entered into the search box. So this would give one the impression that the definitions come from the Britannica, right?