Did You Put Off Saving For Retirement?

by Shakita 35 Replies latest jw friends

• Shakita
    Shakita

The JW's put it into our heads that the end is coming any day now. I didn't think that I would ever retire in this system of things. I felt that long before retirement age the new system would be here and I would have no money worries. As the years rolled by and I didn't have any thing saved for retirement, I became more and more anxious. Then as my fortieth birthday loomed on the horizon, I realized that I had better start saving for retirement or my wife and I would be in bad shape at retirement. I have been saving now for about five years and I am just starting to build a nest egg. Soon I'm going to increase my percentage of withdrawal for retirement so that I can catch up.

I remember feeling many years ago, that to save for retirement was the same as saying that I didn't believe that the end was coming. I felt that I would be telling Jehovah that I didn't put faith in all his promises. Since the GB told us continually that the end would be here any day, I believed them and so I put off something that I should have done years ago. Thankfully I'm still young enough that I can save for retirement. I can't remember how many times elders would tell me and my family to be content with sustenance and covering. Do you think that those elders would have been there for me and my wife if we had little or no money saved for retirement? Forget about it.