Excellent Netflix Documentary: Deprogrammed

by pale.emperor 2 Replies latest jw experiences

• pale.emperor
    pale.emperor

I watched this really interesting documentary on Netflix the other day. It's about a man called Ted Patrick who became a cult deprogrammer after his son was recruited into a cult in the 1960s. He basically self taught through trial and error and interviewing many cult members and former-members.

I must say I dont agree with his method, maybe as a last resort but I think it's likely to do more harm than good. It's the same as Steve Hassan's method - bundle them into a car, take them to a remote location and start the deprogramming procedure through asking questions and introducing them to former members.

One cult on there even refers to themselves as "the truth". She say's something we can all relate to:

"When I was in, we'd look around at other groups like the Hari Krishnas or Moonies and say "yeah, they're in a cult". But we never noticed ourselves as being in a cult. We were in the truth."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOTtvY_B6Do

From what I noticed from this, cults seem to follow the same basic method to manipulate the everyday person into their group:

1. Find a ripe target. They will approach students, activists looking for a cause to fight for or grieving relatives and people in a low point in their lives.
    2. Love bomb. Invite them to a free lecture, meal or vacation. During the lecture or vacation the leader and the deeper teachings arnt mentions. At most they'll talk about how bad the world is and how they're working to make it better.
    3. Isolate the target. Get them away from critical friends/family. Take them away on a vacation with like-minded members or make them commit to a few days of courses away from anyone else.