The book of Jeremiah

by truthwillsetyoufree 8 Replies latest watchtower bible

• truthwillsetyoufree
    truthwillsetyoufree

It occurred to me the other day that I don't actually know all that much about the bible.

Dont get me wrong, I was a very dedicated and studious Jehovah's Witness and I studied the bible every day - or so I thought. I have now realised that during the time I spent in that religion I didn't study the bible - I studied Jehovah's Witness theology. I saw the bible and religious history through the preconceived ideas of this organisation. If someone was to ask me to explain one by one the teachings of Jehovahs witnesses with biblical support I could easily do it, quoting multitudes of verses. But if someone was to ask me about what a certain book of the bible teaches, the time period it was written in, the people who it was given to, the themes contained within, etc I wouldn't stand a chance.

This brings me to my subject title - the book of Jeremiah. I have no idea about what this book is about. I never used it on the platform or in my preaching, can hardly ever remembering it being used at the meetings, and so decided last night, that now I am free of watchtower clutches, to read it and see what it says fro myself.

So how would I summarise the book of Jeremiah?

It is a long, long, long, boring book, filled with nothing but Gods judgement and denunciations against Israel and Judah, and all the nations from Babylon to Egypt. That is all there is in Jeremiah. Gods anger against the people of the land.

Now I used to believe that the bible essentially came from God. When I went on field service I used to say to people that if you believe it's the word of God why would you not want to read it? This has come from the God who made the whole universe, you should be enthralled by it. Not only that by if God gave me a book he had wrote I would expect to read some amazing things.