Debating evolution, intelligent design and cosmology with a JW

by Thestumbler83 30 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Thestumbler83
    Thestumbler83

Hi all,

I’ve been having an email exchange with a JW family member and the discussion seem to have become a bit heated – and I’m not quite sure why. I don’t think I’ve said anything obviously offensive and I’ve been very careful with my wording. But I think I’m sometimes a bit tone deaf with these things. My day job is writing financial reports so I tend to write in a very matter of fact manner and sometimes this can be misinterpreted as curtness when it’s not (just dispassionate analysis).

Anyway, here’s the background; a few months ago I wrote an email to my Dad about evolution (he had previously asked me to explain the evidence in my own words). I wrote this document:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kc7umf91ujxy4qk/Evolution%20-%20Fact%20and%20Theory%204.0.pdf?dl=0 (DOC version)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/esdu0uyv4vuns2r/Evolution%20-%20Fact%20and%20Theory%204.0.docx?dl=0 (PDF version).

(if you don't want to read the whole document you can probably skip to the emails in my next post)

In his reply he basically said none of what I wrote proved evolution but he did not specifically address any of the evidence I presented. He also claimed that evolution is not a theory. Over several emails I asked him on what basis he did not consider evolution to be a valid scientific theory and why specifically the evidence I presented did not indicate evolution. He skirted around the questions and never gave an answer.

He then asked me how I explained a universe without intelligent design (which he considers a proven fact). So I wrote this document about current explanations for the universe in particle physics/cosmology:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ds35un1kat10mfm/Universe%20from%20nothing%20Final.docx?dl=0 (DOC version)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j59r2ga340eenk0/Universe%20from%20nothing%20Final.pdf?dl=0 (PDF version)