How did you feel when "your book" was discontinued?

by OverlappingGeneralizations 7 Replies latest jw friends

• OverlappingGeneralizations
    OverlappingGeneralizations

I didn't know where to posts this, I hope "friends" is ok-

Anyway-

How did you feel when the book you studied in was deemed "discontinued"? For instance, when I was studying, I studied the Knowledge book. I loved that book back had my rose-colored "truth" glasses on. But, when I was out in service, at least I could stand behind that book. This was the book that "got me", and it could get you too!

Then they changed to the Bible Teach book. I didn't like it as much, and I didn't feel like I could represent it with conviction like I could the Knowledge book. But at least I still had my ol' Require brochure! Oops, they said not to use that one either.

Then we changed bibles too. I was so used to the way the scriptures sounded in the old translation. I knew right where to find key scriptures. Now, new book, new bible, new brochures, now even new tracts! I just felt disconnected...

Ugh. I don't know what I am getting at. I just feel like when they say the books and stuff we studied are not to be used anymore, it's like saying my foundation is not up to code. What I was "raised" on isn't right.

Now that I am waking up, I am seeing that none of it was right. But I just wonder, those of you that are still in, or remember what it was like, did you feel a strange sense of cut-off when they discontinued your book or your favorite "placement"?

• rebel8
    rebel8

When I was in school, I had textbooks that said "Negroes". Then it was changed to "colored", then "black". We had a session in the beginning of the school year when we had to sit there and cross out the old words and write in the new ones. There was some speech about how the old word is not nice and won't be allowed.

It seemed odd to have a word that was A-ok 3 months prior to suddenly be a bad word, but at least there was transparency.