Do you think the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki was a war crime or a terrible act of war ?

by truthseeker100 20 Replies latest social current

• truthseeker100
    truthseeker100

I believe that the bombings shortened the war in the pacific and probably saved countless lives. I am not an expert on this subject but given the times it was probably the correct and moral thing to do.

What say you all?

• millie210
    millie210

Very interesting question truthseeker.

I would first have to familiarize myself with the definition of a war crime vs an act of war.

I come from a background of 4 generations of military men ending with my father so I know very little that I would consider "ogjective".

• John Aquila
    John Aquila

the correct and moral thing to do.

Not sure!

But the bigger question is, Will it happen again within our life time? The probability is very high that it will.

Nine countries together possess more than 15,000 nuclear weapons. The United States and Russia maintain roughly 1,800 of their nuclear weapons on high-alert status – ready to be launched within minutes of a warning. Most are many times more powerful than the atomic bombs dropped on Japan in 1945.

• Village Idiot
    Village Idiot

Prior to the Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear bombings, Tokyo had been napalm bombed with 100,000 people burning to death.

Would that be considered a war crime?

Nuclear bombs have an advantage over conventional bombs of course since they are more concentrated in mass compared to an equivalent firepower of conventional explosives. That makes them easier to use which is where their danger lies.

• Saintbertholdt
    Saintbertholdt

Originally there was some talk by the Allies of first demonstrating the A-bomb.

But then the argument was: What if it doesn't work or doesn't work well?

So then there was talk of Warning the Japanese.

Well again what if it doesn't work or doesn't work well?