I'm new

by liquidsky 21 Replies latest jw experiences

• liquidsky
    liquidsky

Hello!

I've been visiting this site for about 6 months but haven't had the courage to post anything. Well here goes.....

I was born and raised a JW. Although I never really enjoyed anything about the religion, I trudged along because I was afraind of losing my family, and of course afraid of being destroyed in Armageddon. I was Babtized when I was 15 because of pressure from my family. During the next couple of years I pioneered, visited bethel etc.etc.

At 19 I married my best friend, who I was in love with all through highschool. We never hooked up untill after highschool because he was not a JW and I turned him down numorus times even though it made me completley miserable. I dated a couple of JW guys but was never really interested in them because well to be honest... they were complete Losers. My family was in shock when I told them I was marrying out of truth and they told me that it would never work out because Jehovah would not bless our marrige. They also refused to have anything to do with the wedding. Of course I had to go through the whole judicial commitee, but nothing became of that because they couldn't prove that I had commiteed any wrongdoing.

During the past 6 years, with the help of my husband, I have been able to do the slow fade. The first couple of years were the hardest. The fear and guilt I felt was overwhelming. I tried to go back to the meeting a couple of times but it just made me even more depressed. I was never shunned by anyone in family but they do keep thier distance.

Honestly I have no regrets about leaving the organization. In fact right now I could never be happier. I hope to get to know all of you and make some new freinds. =)

• Mac
    Mac

Liquidsky,

Welcome

mac

• Gopher
    Gopher

liquidsky,

Glad you posted, and welcome to the board!!