INTERVIEW: with an Elder

by TerryWalstrom 40 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• TerryWalstrom
    TerryWalstrom

I posted this yesterday on Facebook right after it happened.

SO THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED A FEW MINUTES AGO. . .

Every day, I go to the local Starbucks and sit in a hall vestibule just outside the store so I can write and work on the book I'm trying to finish.

Everybody who goes to Starbucks knows me and that I'm a writer. So, today a fellow in a suit overhears two other people talking to me about my writing and I say out loud that I'm writing about religion and how people have different ideas about truth.

The man in the suit strolls over to me and we end up chatting about some awfully familiar territory! Suddenly, I noticed he's carrying the SILVER SWORD under his arm! He's a J-Dub! Ha!! He's wanting to count time out in service using me!
    I went into stealth mode.

I asked him about his religious ideas and he gave me the usual response. Then, I suggested he sit down for a brief interview! I said it might be included in my book. It finally came out that he is an Elder in the local congregation. He asked that I not put his name in the book and I said I wouldn't. (I suppose he was covering his ass in case he said anything which could be construed as damaging.)

After pretending he didn't have time--I could see he was flattered and really DID want to be interviewed by a writer for a book!

What follows is my attempt to be neutral, scholarly and professional. I began with as safe and uncontroversial a topic as I could think of.

Question: "How do Jehovah's Witnesses manage diversity within their congregations?"

Elder: "I'm not sure I know what you mean by 'diversity.'

Question: "Individual opinions, tastes, dispositions are part of all societies are they not? How does your clergy or leadership manage basic human diversity?"