Reasons for becoming a JW?

by Dubby 20 Replies latest jw friends

• Dubby
    Dubby

I'm curious about the reasons for becoming a JW.

If you were raised a JW, were you pressured into baptism? Or were you convinced of the "truth" of the org.?

If you weren't raised a JW, what were the deciding factors? Was research outside the org. done? Were you impressed by your study conductor? Were you lonely and wanted fellowship? Were you looking for the "truth" and said HA! I found it!? Did you meet a JW and fall in love?

It would be interesting to hear from anybody that did independent research and found the WTS to be just the ticket.

I am ashamed to say that as a young man of 21, I did virtually no research at all. I was impressed by the JW's I studied with, and the literature sounded so convincing! Such pretty pictures! This HAD to be the truth! I look back and wondered why I could be so gullible. Why did I treat my wife so badly when she wouldn't accept it? She actually called me an a**hole because of my arrogance. But, I digress. People get suckered into scams every second of the day. Did we get scammed? I guess P.T. Barnum was right.

"Enjoy God's creation, ride a dirt bike!"

Edited by - dubby on 14 June 2000 22:2:18

• waiting
    waiting

Well, ok. My Reaons for Becoming one of Jehovah's Witnesses:

I was 18, fresh out of 12 years in a Catholic school. I had a horrible upbringing in my home, at least part of the time. I started dating this really rebellious hippie guy (my parents hated him - thus we became a "thing" fast).

I called this hippie guy one Sunday afternoon and he said he was going to be busy during a Bible study. Yeah, right. Come see for yourself. I will. I did.

I asked the conductor if there was a hell fire, he said no, and I was hooked, as I really believed I was going to Hell.