The worst company I worked for.

by Preston 12 Replies latest jw experiences

• Preston
    Preston

Nope, the above isn't a cryptic reference to my experience wallowing in the low spark of domineering elders, self-righteous piblishers, and heavy handed overseers. It is however an accurate statement regarding my 7-month stay at an Internet company here in Arizona that sold ink cartridges over the web. It was my first full-time job after I graduated from college with my Bachelor's degree last year, and in my mind it was one of the most poorly run companies in the world. I started in December 2001, a few months out of college. I responded to an ad and I was set up with an interview the following day. Their business was located in the back room of an Insurance office and my first impression of the company was that it was a very busy environment. I was informed that they needed to resolve some business issues with their company, primarily in their shipping department. I agreed to help their company as well as offer on-call tech support if any tech issues came up. I was asked to come in the next day. On my first day of work I was informed that my manager and assistant manager fired all of the company's staff the day before except for their web designer and computer technician (both lived out of state). They felt that I could do the job of all the staff that they fired. I was a little concerned at first but was too busy to think about it when I started working. My job at first involved packaging all of the orders, printing out labels through ort UPS on-line world ship system, and giving the tracking numbers to my manager to enter into the back end of our Internet store. The reason why this was done was so we had proof that the orders went out. All we had to do was refer to the tracking number and trace it through ups. That day I was later informed that instead of using a shipper that stopped by and picked up all the packages himself, I would personally have to hand-delive