Religious freedom is being denied!

by tyydyy 17 Replies latest jw friends

• tyydyy
    tyydyy

I'm sure someone else has already thought of this but I wanted to see what discussion came from this.

I was raised as a JW and left at the age of 35. I still do the dance to keep from being disfellowshiped so that I don't lose all contact with my family. The thought just came to me that as I went through my life my religious freedom was being denied by coersion. Even after I left home, I was constantly reminded that if I studied other religions that I would be expelled from the congregation and my family members who were JWs would not be allowed to even say a greeting to me.

Would this qualify as a denial of my constitutional right to religious freedom? Isn't this a basic human right? Has anyone tried to address this in a courtroom? Does anyone else feel the same way?

TimB

• Thirdson
    Thirdson

tyydyy,

I feel the same as you. I have used the fundamental human right to freedom of religion and worship and the right to change one's religion with my parents. Since they expressed the view (from the Awake) of supporting these rights, I used it to my advantage with some success. More recently, I have pushed the envelope by being highly critical of the Watchtower's policies on child abuse and the absurd doctrine on partial blood banning; maybe a little too far.

I don't know if anyone has challenged the Watchtower, but to me, a religion that uses leadership enforced public shunning of ex-members who choose a different belief system is violating basic human rights. It only shows how hypocritical the Watchtower cult is.

Thirdson

• Crystal
    Crystal

Its not any different than say... the Mafia..telling you "If you don't do what we tell you to..you will never get to see your family again." Believe me I have thought of this time and time again due to the fact that i have "lost" many loved ones.

• amac
    amac