Has anybody ever co-related what Jewish scholars beleive about the Hebrew scriptures and what jehovahs Witnesses beleive ?

by smiddy 10 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• smiddy
    smiddy

I`m just curious as to how different they may be.

smiddy

• kaik
    kaik

Yes, I did. I studied with rabbi in Eastern Europe for a bit and later went for classes that were conducted by Jewish teacher explaing OT and was done also by rabbi and professor who was Jewish and married to one of them. I am married to Jewish person, but the faith is not relevant as the second half is secular, but my in-laws family have some orthodox members. Jewish beliefs are different from Christianity, and it is also crucial do make distinction between Jewish faith and Jewish culture and life as part of cultural, social, and national identity. What Jews taught me:

1. Satan is God's helper, he collect evidence on your misdeed, and is like a public accuser. He works at will and under supervison of G-d and does not oppose him, nor torment damned in hell.
    2. Everyone is responsible for his own sin. What you saw you reap. There is no idea of original sin, nor Adamic sin. Life is created sinless and holy. Person became sinfull due innability to hold Torah.
    3. Nobody can pay out for your sin; thereofre, Atonement of Jesus, is invalid in the Jewish books. You are responsible for maintaining good relationship with G-d and no other person can bridge between you and Him.
    4. Hell is not defined, and if there is, it is not a permanent place of torment. Even citizen's of Sodom were released from the tormemnt. There is not justice to punish someone for eternity.
    5. Messiah is a king of the future brining peace to the world.
    6. Adam is not father of all mankind, but Eve is a mother of all humanity. Kain was a product of relationship between Satan and Eve.