Interesting query and reply about THE CROSS on Bart Ehrman's blog

by Terry 10 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Terry
    Terry

kleenmaint July 5, 2014

Dear Bart:

I couldn’t find a topic on Josephus so I hope you see my question. In your book “Did Jesus Exist” on page 59 you quote (Antiquities 18.3.3).

Both this quotation and the more conservative version that seemed more plausible as his original writing have one very fundamental flaw that you didn’t mention. I of course am asking for your opinion. I’m no expert, but my understanding is that the word “cross” would be a dead give away that this is an interpolation.

The Romans used upright torture stakes not crosses. If this is true then these couldn’t be Josephus words.

Hope you see this. I would like to know. Please forgive me if you address this later on as I have just started reading your book. I am so thankful for your books and the integrity and courage you have demonstrated by exposing these apparent myths to the “light of day”.

Ron

(reply)

• Bart EhrmanBart Ehrman July 6, 2014

No, the term cross (Greek: σταυρος: STAUROS) is the term used in all our sources for the crucifix used by Romans; I don’t know of any references to it being simply an upright stake

• Band on the Run
  • givemejustalittlemoretime
    givemejustalittlemoretime

They used both depending on what kind of pain you want to input

• opusdei1972
    opusdei1972

STAUROS had the primary meaning of a simple pole in Homer's times (eight centuries before Christ). But in Jesus days it could be t-shaped, T-shaped, I-shaped and X-shaped. Any honest research would conclude that. Also, Romans generaly placed the patibulum ( a pole) as a crossbar at the vertical stake of the CRUX. Of course, when there were many convicted ones to be tortured, romans had to use one pole on account of the limited numbers of woods.

• PSacramento
    PSacramento