Dateline Precursor: CBS 60 Min. w/Leslie Stahl

by Room 215 24 Replies latest jw experiences

• Room 215
    Room 215

How many of you out there remember the CBS 60 Minutes program several years ago when correspondent Leslie Stahl examined the JW child custody issues? It may well have provided a clue as to how the upcoming Dateline segement will play out.

Predictably, the Society emerged with something of a black eye, especially because of its cowardly refusal to produce even one GB or Bethel bigshot spokesman to defend its duplicitous policies.

The best JWs could muster was a local JW elder, a lawyer by profession, who stammered and sweated under the withering barrage of hard but fair questions posed by Stahl.

It should have been an eye-opener for JWs who had every right to wonder why not one of the ``courageous defenders of pure worship'' in residence at Bethel, so adept at delivering their pompous bombasts while milking applause from worshipful, uncritical audiences of tens of thousands at their District Assemblies, shrank from what by all appearances was a perfect opportunity to ``defend the truth'' and ``give a witness'' to a prime-time national audience.

I also recall that the silence of JWs after the airing of the segment was deafening, and about as welcome as a fart in church... err...I mean Kingdom Hall.

• LDH
    LDH

LOL!

Right on, Room 215! They hide behind the rank and file at every chance they get. It should be a wake-up call why they constantly AVOID the media.

Lisa

• Makena1
    Makena1

Room215 - I did not get to see that particular segment, however, I recall several of my "fellow elders" at the time denouncing how one sided (aka anti-JW)it was.

Perhaps it was one sided - because as you wrote no one from Bethel was willing to refute the evidence.

The upcoming Silentlambs piece should result in a bigger "black eye".
    Mak