Can & Do j.ws receive Welfare payments?

by Composer2005 25 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• Composer2005
    Composer2005

Can & Do j.ws receive Welfare payments?

I would especially appreciate Watchtower publications, articles etc if available, no matter how old?

Thank you

• Julia Orwell
    Julia Orwell

I don't have any publications on the matter as I've destroyed all my cult stuff, but having been a jw in a welfare state (Australia) I have a lot of first hand experience with this topic.

In short, yes, jws can receive benefits. There are many benefits in Australia and jws can receive unemployment if they're truly unemployed (not doing cash-in-hand work on the side), disability, single parent, family, medical and study allowances. I myself have been on unemployment, medical and student while a jw, and it was all fine "theocratically".

Where it is considered unacceptable is if one pioneers while on unemployment, because technically they should be supporting themselves as the bible says to. Someone on unemployment technically should not have their pioneer application accepted ie they are not supposed to go on the dole to pioneer because it's a bad witness.

• kaik
    kaik

In Czech Republic JW are often on welfare, recieve benefits paid by taxpayers which includes suplimental income. Czech Republic has generally well established welfare and universal healthcare system (but it is not single payer, but several insurance companies), and social nest. I also knew JW who were getting food deliveries from Catholic charity because they did not work and had no income, but enough time to go into field service. I never heard that pioneer could not be on unemployment. I knew JWs from various congregation around CZ and they were doing exactly the same, work a bit, get laid off, work on field service, get rehired.. repeat.

• ShirleyW
    ShirleyW