Better Bible Translation?

by Sofia Lose 16 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Sofia Lose
    Sofia Lose

Which Bible translation is the best, according to Biblical Scholars, anybody knows? Please chime in.

I plan on getting it and doing comparison with the New World Translation.

SL

• nelim
    nelim
    As far as I know, no translation is perfect. They all have their mistakes here and there in some verse. I usually use biblehub.com to compare with several. I think the NASB is mostly good. Young's Literal Translation is hard to read, but in a few places it does matter to get a sense of the original words as well as possible in English. Hope this helps, note that I'm a layman though.
  • Old Goat
    Old Goat
    I think the three volume Bible from 26 Translations is still in print. It's a good way to compare translations without buying them all.
  • minimus
    minimus
    N I V
  • careful
    careful

Your question presupposes that "according to Biblical Scholars" there is one, "the best" Bible translation. No offense, but this attitude may show that some Witness-type thinking is at work in your mind. There is no one "the best" Bible translation. Some are more literal, sometimes missing the meaning. Others are free, at times taking liberties that may not be legit. There are many factors that go into producing a Bible translation. Short of learning Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek (!), you could just start using several translations (note the comments from others above).

One more thing: biblical scholars are all over the page. They're hardly a unified group. Some are liberal, some conservative, some atheists or agnostics. Some are Jewish, others Catholic, others Protestant, others non-denominational. The Bible, like any other body of ancient literature, is complex, so looking for simple solutions will only lead to either disappointment or a biased fantasy.

My "chime."

• FayeDunaway
    FayeDunaway