how can I go on?

by red_spice 9 Replies latest jw friends

• red_spice
    red_spice

This is my first time posting. I have been a loyal servant for over 25 years. 2 years ago my "elder" husband announced that he would never attend another meeting. It was like someone pulled the rug from under my feet. We have been serving Jehovah together for 16 years and I feel lost and abandoned without his spirtual leadership. Our marriage is still intact and in some ways better than it was. The problem is me. I have not attended meetings regularly since that time nor do I feel the desire to do so. I guess you can say he really was the spiritual head of our home. I do need to have Jehovah in my life and I have a need of christian fellowship. How can I get the motivation to go on with my spiritual life without my husband's spiritual lead. We have lost that 3-fold cord, with no hope of getting it back and I desperately feel that loss. I know that the spiritual responsibility of our family now falls on me but I do not feel able to shoulder that resonsibility. Prayer has not helped in this matter and I am sinking into despair.

• Carmel
    Carmel

Dear Red,

It seems to me you may be confusing spiritual, relgious and social. I could be wrong, but from my experiance in the past the word spiritual was an adjective for almost everything. Certainly dispair is a want for something comforting, but exactly what? You can be and become as spiritual as you aspire without the "leadership" of your spouse, and you can be as religious (attending meetings, observing rituals, etc) without but it is likely you want companionship in these activities (the social security).

What are you really missing?

carmel

• Martini
    Martini

Welcome Red_Spice,
    Everyone posting here has a lot of sorting out to do as far as satisfying their spiritual need, especially since many have become dissillusioned with failing end time WT prophecy.