Any Amateur Astronomers Out There?

by cofty 39 Replies latest social entertainment

• cofty
    cofty

I have recently revived my interest in the night sky.

There are a lot of great sights you can identify with just a pair of binoculars. I am currently relearning how to navigate my way round all the constellations and find some of the best objects.

I live out in the country so we get almost total darkness right outside my front door.

I have downloaded the Microsoft Worldwide Telescope which a brilliant bit of freeware for navigating the night sky.

Here's hoping for some clear skys at the end of the month when the moon will be dark again.

What is your favourite object in the night sky?

• Viviane
    Viviane

I am. I have a Celestron Astromaster 114. I use Stellarium as my software. I love the moon, Mars and Jupiter. I am hoping to get a solar filter soon so I can observe the Sun. If you have an Android phone, there is an app called Night Sky Tools that is really nice to have, it has a night mode that puts everything in red to preserve your night vision.

• cofty
    cofty

Great tips thank you.

I might get back to you for advice on telescopes in the future.

• JeffT
    JeffT

I had a four inch reflector as a kid, alas the mirror pitted over the years making it unusable. We're thinking of buying another telescope of some sort. I noticed last night that the moon will pass very close to Jupiter tonight, they'll be right overhead approaching midnight.

I hear you about about relearning to navigate the night sky. I've forgotten almost everything I used to know. Being a city dweller doesn't help, when I was young we lived out in the country.

• Oubliette
    Oubliette

I've always been a fan of the night sky, particularly the winter night sky. My interest in astronomy started when I was a teen. Orion's Belt and the Pleiades are stlll like old friends to me when ever I see them.