edx-Course --> Early Christianity: The Letters of Paul

by fastJehu 44 Replies latest watchtower bible

• fastJehu
    fastJehu

Link to the Course: https://www.edx.org/course/harvardx/harvardx-hds1544-1x-early-christianity-927

Intro Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Rj3NxOyt7k

It's my first time for a edx-course and I will try "Early Christianity: The Letters of Paul"

Maybe this is for some friends here on board interesting.

This course would also interesting: https://www.edx.org/course/uqx/uqx-think101x-science-everyday-thinking-1185 "Learn how to think better, argue better, and choose better."

• Witness My Fury
    Witness My Fury

I might watch it later, depending on it's agenda...

One thing to note is the almost total lack of Jesus in the works attributed to Paul. That in itself should raise red flags... why did Paul have such little knowledge of the works or teachings of Jesus so shortly after the supposed events?

Enjoy your research...

• Thoughtless
    Thoughtless

I JUST JOINED THIS CLASS THREE WEEKS AGO, AND I AM SO EXCITED. Even more so that an ExJw has joined the course as well ;D

• NeonMadman
    NeonMadman

One thing to note is the almost total lack of Jesus in the works attributed to Paul. That in itself should raise red flags... why did Paul have such little knowledge of the works or teachings of Jesus so shortly after the supposed events?

How do you figure? Christ is central in all of the Pauline letters. Are you referring to the fact that he doesn't re-tell the gospel stories that were already well known to his audience? To argue that the letters of Paul are inauthentic because of what they don't say seems like an argument from silence. Paul was a theologian. Others were writing, or had written the Gospel narratives. Paul's purpose was not to rehash what was already known, but to explain what the significance of it was. The fact that he doesn't tell the stories about Jesus hardly implies that he had "little knowledge" of them.