Interview with an Apostate: Paralipomenon

by Paralipomenon 3 Replies latest jw experiences

• Paralipomenon
    Paralipomenon

Tell us a little about yourself and your family.

I answered all the questions first then went back to this to fill it in. In all, I don't let very many see my true self. What I wrote here was a different experience for me and gave a glimpse into my life and personal thoughts that feels very foreign to be so brutally honest.

I am a programmer focusing on mobile apps. I love programming. It has such logic and order that I appreciate. My wife and I met as Witnesses and we have known each other since our late teens. We are coming up on 15 years of marriage.

Many people say they have a perfect marriage, but closer examination reveals it to be just wishful thinking. I feel that I have as close to a perfect marriage as is possible. We don't fight but there is still passion. To date we have had 3 actual real arguments that could be termed as "fights".

We just click.

We have 3 boys that are growing up into fine young men and really they are my life.

Were you a born in or a convert?

Born in

Are your parents / family JWs?

My parents and two brothers are the only JWs

How many generations have been JWs?

Did you hold any position in the WTS? (MS, Elder etc...)

Nope, I really tried and regardless of what I did I was always told I had to do more. It was later that I found out that my father had been deleted twice and as such I wouldn't be allowed to join the inner circle.

Did you *really* believe in the bible, in spirits (angels, demons)?

At a young age I really believed it since my parents told me so. The older I got, the less believeable it seemed. I wanted to believe it, but deep down it just didn't make sense to me.

Did you get baptised? When and why?