What I Have Learned

by Sunflower1982 12 Replies latest jw experiences

• Sunflower1982
    Sunflower1982

Hello Everyone! This is my first post here, so I guess I should introduce myself J I'm a 19-year-old college student in Baltimore, Maryland. I was involved with JWs on and off for about 4 years and, after being baptized for a little over a year, I stopped attending meetings. Although my time as a JW was very brief (compared to the decades many people have spent in the organization) it is amazing how much my experience as a JW has affected my life.

It has taken a great deal of time and thought for me to sever my ties with the organization, but it was a decision that I will never regret making. I have learned so much about myself and mankind that is simply incompatible with the teaching of the WTBTS, and the best part is that I learned all of these things on my own. I didn't need an elder or a pioneer to tell me what to think or to categorize what was right and what was wrong. I know now that I am just as capable as everyone else of living, learning, loving, and understanding the people around me.

I guess that is what got me entangled in this religion to begin with. I didn't believe in myself. I wanted absolute truth, and I really believed that some religion out there had to have it. So, when I started studying with JWs, I was enchanted by their façade of confidence and rightness. They had answers for every question I could think of, I just never stopped to wonder if they were the right answers or not. Being a troubled teen, I was also drawn into the "brotherhood' that existed in the religion. What I perceived as spiritual family ties were really tourniquets cutting off my life with every "worldly" person around me. In hindsight, it seems almost as it was all planned out, like some kind of hunt or something.