Small Victories!

by emperorslaundrist 10 Replies latest jw friends

• emperorslaundrist
    emperorslaundrist

My husband's cult personality has relaxed since he's been seeing me go out in service and underline my watchtower, so yesterday it felt right to nudge him just a little more. Here's how it went:

"You know, I normally love the watchtower articles but the one I'm studying for tomorrow is just crazy. I'm beginning to think that there's a narcissist somewhere in the writing department. The last few articles were great, but then I read one like this and I can't help but think somebody up there is a little touched in the head"

Since that's piqued his curiosity I read him the first paragraph of today's study article:

GENERALLY, true Christians do not have to make sworn oaths. This is because they obey Jesus, who said: “Just let your word Yes mean Yes.” He meant that a person should keep his word. Jesus prefaced that command by saying: “Do not swear at all.” He said this in condemnation of the casual habit that many people have in their daily conversation of repeatedly swearing to this or to that, without ever intending to do what they say. By going “in excess” of a simple Yes or No to state their intentions, such people may reveal that they are really untrustworthy and thus under the influence of “the wicked one.”—Read Matthew 5:33-37.

He says "I can totally see brother_____ saying something like this, especially that last sentence."

I summarize the flow of the magazine and then read this part in par 11:

a person who is false to agreements is among those who are "deserving of death"

He really looked shock when I read that part to him. We talked about what the mean people in the hall would do with something like this.

Then I read paragraph 15: