A wife's submission

by Mark_C 28 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Mark_C
    Mark_C

Hello all, I'm relatively new to the faith, and struggle with many concepts and teachings. I am getting married soon. Part of the teaching I've experienced is that a wife must learn submission to her husband. It is something which both my fiance and myself find difficult to put into practice. In today's world, this teaching is unpopular for many. Is this teaching truly scriptural? I'm not trying to be contentious or controversial - just wanting to share a difficulty, and look for help in overcoming it. Thanks, Mark.

• Phizzy
    Phizzy

Is it truly scriptural ? as is the case with nearly all matters, not as the WT interprets it. I was a young twenty year old all those decades ago when I married my JW wife. We both firmly beleived then that it was to be an equal partnership, that you could not interpret scriptures that seemed to say women were inferior etc and ignore the scriptures that urged you to love eachother fully.

We have had a long and happy marriage, O.K not perfect, but better than many many JW ones.

I made a study of all the scriptures used to subjugate women, it was a pet hate of mine the way the WT interpreted them, and the way some Pig JW men put them in to practice, and I concluded there was nothing solid to support a mysogynistic attitude.

I do wonder though why anyone should want to risk their happiness based on the edicts found in a 2000 year old book written for its time by goat-herders and desert nomads i.e The Bible.

It is not a book on which to base your life, or your morals and ethics , in the 21st Century, no more than the Quran is.

• designs
    designs

If you are referring to the Bible keep in mind it is a 2000 year old text from bygone cultures. What else about a 2000 year old culture/religion do you want to assimilate in your life.

• oldlightnewshite
    oldlightnewshite

Welcome to the forum Mark_C!