Bootstrap?

by cappytan 11 Replies latest forum announcements

• cappytan
    cappytan

Being a web developer, I can't help but notice the similarities between the forum UI and Bootstrap. 

Is it based off of bootstrap? I didn't see any of the tell-tale CSS or JS files when I used my inspector.

• Simon
    Simon

It is bootstrap based but I don't reference the original bootstrap files directly. For performance, the critical styles are inlined into the html <head> section and the rest load async (i.e. the page can render without having to wait for an external stylesheet to load first).

In both cases, I use gulp + less + uncss to create a custom build of only the components used and tweak styles a little and to strip out and css classes that aren't actually referenced by any templates so the size of the stylesheets is greatly reduced.

The bootstrap javascript isn't used - any custom scripts use Angular.js so it makes sense to use Angular Bootstrap.UI instead. Again, the scripts are built with gulp using browserify and uglify to compress them to be as small as possible.

A lot of the time the pages achieve a very satisfying "100/100 No Issues Found" on PageSpeed Insights which is nice. I've also been looking at other things such as Google's web framework and polymer / material design layouts. Right now though Bootstrap is pretty well supported and used by other components (such as the HTML editor) so don't expect any change for a while.

• pixel
    pixel
    Nice info.
  • nicolaou
    nicolaou
    What I heard: "magic".  :)
  • Simon
    Simon

Glad it's useful.

It takes some time to setup but the payback from automating the build and optimization process is fantastic and really does make deployments easier - also all automated so making a code change and putting it live can take seconds, or minutes if I'm trying specially hard not to break anything! :)