Time for an Intervention

by NCO 22 Replies latest jw friends

• NCO
    NCO

Come this July, I will have been out of the JW's for 20 years. And it has been quite a long time since I've really spent any serious time studying up on JW news and doctrines although I do still read here occasionally. But after today looks like I've got some work to do.

My First Sergeant called me this morning asking for my help to fix his dad's truck as I'm an auto technician in my civilian job. So being that I had nothing else to do, I took a drive up to where they live. Turns out that the parts store sold him the wrong belt for the application and their catalog was wrong. Luckily I found the right belt and got it running. So scored some points with "Top".

After the job was done, we went inside and sat down for a while to relax. And what do I see but his entire coffee table is COVERED with Watchtower and Awake magazines. I looked at Top and then at his dad, both prior Marines, and asked his dad "are you or your wife Witnesses?" and of course Top started laughing.

His dad (Top Seinor) said no, that he is just studying with them. And then went on to tell me how he is seeing that they're really right about things and how they're not as bad as people say they are.

I said "well I was one. For 20 years."

Top said "boy am I glad I got you to come over! I never knew that you were one!" I told him that I'd found out our recently retired Command Sergeant Major used to be one as well. Small world!

So for about the next hour I politely talked about everything I could remember from what I'd learned here as well as Freeminds. After everything I told him, he became a little more surprised and would say "wow they never said anything about that!" At the end of it, I asked for his email address to send him links to info he should know about. I said most Witnesses don't even know their own history.