To Those of You Partaking at Home This Year. . .

by leavingwt 13 Replies latest jw friends

• leavingwt
    leavingwt

Have you abandoned the WT idea of two classes of Christians?

While still a believer, Ray's books helped me to see that the idea of there being two classes of Christians was a 'unique interpretation' of the Watchtower Society with no basis in Scripture.

• Chariklo
    Chariklo

There being two classes of Christians is one of my biggest stumbling blocks in respect of the Watchtower interpretation of Scriptures.

And nowhere is it more obvious and feeling more incongruous than at the Memorial.

But of course, I am new to the Watchtower, so I almost don't count in respect of this question. All my life I've known something else....though even in the churches it's only those who are confirmed, (a concept entirely absent from the Watchtoower teachings) who receive Holy Communion (the bread and wine either as or representing...according to the church one is in...the body and blood of Jesus.

I have been adamant about not attending the Memorial this year, and yet as it's approached I found myself illogically feeling increasingly drawn to attend. I can't explain it. It's been something of a struggle not to go this evening, and that is ridiculous.

Sorry, leavingwt, that's not a very direct answer to your question...or at least, I think you were looking for an answer from people who are ex-JW's rather than ex-nearly-JW's.

• undercover
    undercover

I partake every night. And there are three classes that I accept...

Brewed, distilled and fermented

• irondork
    irondork

My roommate and I will be commemorating the lord's evening meal tonight for, as far as I'm concerned, the very first time. I'm looking forward to it and a little nervous. I've outlined a few things to say on the subject, we'll take turns reading a few passages and then partake.