On being born in and celebrating Birthdays

by baltar447 23 Replies latest jw friends

• baltar447
    baltar447

So I'm in my mid 30s and about to have a birthday next month. Was putting together a very modest wish list and just broke down crying.

I was in tears. I've never felt important enough to have a Birthday. I realized that growing up a JW makes you feel like a piece of human waste. I am just beginning to unravel the human damage that this stupid cult does to people.

• PaintedToeNail
    PaintedToeNail

balthar447, I don't know what's on your wish list, but I wish you happiness and long life. As a virtual born in, I never had a birthday either. You are right, it does make a person seem insignificant.

• Morbidzbaby
    Morbidzbaby

Yes, baltar, I'm with you on that. I was asked what I wanted for my birthday and I was drawing a complete blank. Christmas, too. We're taught that we don't deserve to be the center of attention for ONE DAY out of the year...that the day we first breathed and came to exist on this planet, when our energy joined that of every other thing, is not an important day whatsoever. It's hard not to feel insignificant and undeserving at times. But I was told "this is the day you were born...this day made it possible for you to be in my life...why would I not want to celebrate that??".

SO...apply that to yourself the next time you feel undeserving. Your birthday made it possible for you to touch the lives of many, not only on these boards, but everywhere you are in your life. How can people NOT celebrate that?

• LittleMac
    LittleMac

Baltar,