HELP PLEASE!

by TheStar 28 Replies latest jw friends

• TheStar
    TheStar

I'm a newbie around here. I have only posted once but I've come in here almost every day to read for about the past month. This place has been therapeutic for me as I'm currently trying to make my exit out of the Borg. I'm taking a big step here in writing this post.

I desperately need help writing my DA letter. I'll give some background on me, so that you can know why I need this help, please bare with me here, I'll try not to make it too long and winding.

In short I've been a JW for almost 6 years (including time studied) and have always had my doubts about the society but since their bible study method focuses on cleverly convincing you that they are the only true religion and only path to God, I fell for it and kept those feelings of doubt (that I feel came from having been raised as an independent thinker) pushed away far deep enough that they didn't bother me for years. I don't know what sparked it really, every now and then these doubts would surface back into my mind to haunt me (because, of course, I figured it was Satan) and 6 months ago when I found myself with these doubts again, I decided I needed to put them to rest once in for all, after all if I had the truth I had nothing to fear. But fearful I was... Scared as heck I went to the sources I had been brainwashed into believing were bad, Satanic. I came here, to the wonderful freeing world of the net. Since then, I have looked at every piece of info. that I could find about the society on the net. It's been an emotional roller coaster ride; fear, shame, guilt, hurt, despair, anxiety, anger, relief, joy, elation and everything in between. Sometimes I even feel more than one emotion simultaneously.

I only decided that I knew enough to move on from the JW's a month ago and I have not been attending meetings for only 2 weeks now. I'm getting to my problem; please continue to bear with me.