Has mind control become required for real progression today?

by sabastious 10 Replies latest jw friends

• sabastious
    sabastious

Reading through Combatting Cult Mind Control has got me to thinking...

Cult behaviours are found in an alarmingly high amount of groups. Just start naming off large groups off the top of your head:

National Football League
    Salvation Army
    Democrat and Republican Parties
    Pokemon (Nintendo)
    Free Masons

It seems like today groups need to apply forms of Mind Control to ensure that their mission is accomplished.

I'm starting to think that without total servitude from your members some things just can't be accomplished because of the sheer diversity of humankind.

-Sab

• brotherdan
    brotherdan

Mind control exists EVERYWHERE. I work in marketing and I know that all advertisers use certain manipulation tactics. Look at any commercial. They are wanting to make you think that you NEED their product. In most cases...you probably don't need it. But if they can keep their product in your face for long enough and make you think that everyone else is using it and enjoying it, then you will be more likely to buy it.

I think Stephen Hasaan even talks about this. Mind control is a part of everyones everyday life. But there are DANGEROUS forms of mind control and there are non dangerous forms. Obviously the way that the WT uses mind control is destructive towards a persons life and family and this makes it a destructive mind control cult. But other means of persuation are innocent and not dangerous (IMO).

• Curtains
    Curtains

Good topic sabastious. Its a life skill when you can recognise when there is persuasion going on. We have to learn to evaluate whether or not we really do want to go along with a particular course and then be assertive and say no as clearly as we can.

• VoidEater
    VoidEater

Question marketing

• Lady Lee
    Lady Lee