Medical People: Lipitor vs Zocor (Simvastatin)? Which do you recommend??

by AudeSapere 28 Replies latest jw friends

• AudeSapere
    AudeSapere

I know we have a good representation of medically-trained people on this board so I want to put out this question:

When treating a person with high cholesterol, which do you prefer: Lipitor or Zocor (Simvastatin)? Why one over the other?? If a person begins treatment with Lipitor, is it necessary to use it for the rest of that person's life? How about with Zocor?

In speaking with 3 different doctors, they seem to waffle between the two and we are not really getting good info on benefit/risk differences between them.

Diet and exercise may not be enough. Does one have potential to hurt more than it helps versus the other??

Appreciate in advance your thoughts, insights and feelings on this important matter.

-Aude.

• miseryloveselders
    miseryloveselders

I'm not a doctor or pharmacist, but I work with quite a few in my profession. From what I've been trained on in regards to these "Statins", they're all clinically similar, if not the same. They all have the same potential for side affects, mostly leg cramping. From examining the numbers at my company, Simvastatin (Zocor) is the most popular, and I guess because it was the first blockbuster Statin to go generic. Mevacor (Lovastatin) went generic quite a few years ago, but its not that popular. Zocor, Lipitor, Pravachol, and Crestor are all supposed to be pretty much equal in therapy for hyperlipidemia. I'd say, if you're trying to save some money, it'd be cheaper to go with Simvastatin or Pravastatin(Pravachol). I believe Lipitor is going generic either next year, or the year after.

• AudeSapere
    AudeSapere

bttt